Q&A Karin Sheldon

Karin Sheldon Nature Walk Golden Haze beads 72dpi jpg

Karin Sheldon

What is your practice? Materials? Processes?

Jewellery and Silversmithing – passionate about Silver & Gold; which is obvious when I use Keum-Bo (a Korean technique) to fuse 24ct Gold to Sterling Silver. Copper, Gilding Metal and Silver come to the fore when I make Mokume-Gane. This is the layering and fusing technique developed from the method for making the Samurai Sword. Chasing and Repousse too.

What 5 words best describe your work?

Curiosity Invention Stubborn Excitement Unique

Do you have any design heroes?

Wendy Ramshaw – Jeweller of the 60’s. She made jewellery into a fashionable expression of Art. She still designs all manner of things including jewellery.

Where is your studio?

I work at home. I work more than I would if I had to go somewhere else!!

Describe in 10 words a typical day in your studio

Radio 4 – no computer – concentrate on the metal – innovate.

Are you working on anything unusual at the moment? Commissions? New work?

Developing and extending the gallery collections – Nature Walk: a walk in the English Countryside in Silver and Gold. After an enforced year of ‘slow down’ to move house, I can’t believe my luck – TIME – just making new and unique, handmade pieces and improving my skills.

Did you exhibit or visit last years SAT?

I wasn’t in last year’s SAT but I have done a few shows. I was at Made London last October with DesignGAP, this was our second showing there. With Manchester Jewellers Network, I was at International Jewellery London, a trade show at Olympia. All these were exhausting, exhilarating and successful! The Great Dome Art Fair in Buxton is a good one for me; on my doorstep, very successful and great fun.

What will you be selling at SAT15? Anything new?

I am making alot of rings with unique stones these days. Most with a dash of gold. Necklaces, earrings and bangles. Cufflinks and money clips too! Small silverware – ‘Constellation’ is a range of jewellery with small bowls that have a splash of gold and diamonds, difficult to explain really, you’ll need to see them!

unnamed-6  unnamed-7

 

What venue are you exhibiting at on the trail?

I’m sharing my space with Jane Mitchell Designs at Sarah Driffill’s Studio.

Tell us something we don’t know

I’m a “Techniques Junkie” – but, actually, you might know that if you’ve read the above. My Dad was a Master Organ Builder and taught me to solder when I was 9, I used to press the notes down, in church, while he tuned the pipes.

http://www.sheldonoriginals.co.uk

Thank you!

Leave a comment